Uncategorized

Not Cinderella’s Type by Jenni James

My edition: Kindle Unlimited
Pages: 150
Series: Modern Fairy Tales #1
Genre: Contemporary, YA,
Published: March 29, 2017
Rating: 3.5 stars

Synopsis:

Indy Zimmerman has a new stalker who won’t leave her alone, no matter what she says to him. Never mind the fact that he’s one of the most popular guys at school—she’s positive Bryant Bailey is only trying to appease his own conscience after pretty much destroying her life. But when Bryant doesn’t back down and insists on having some sort of bizarre friendship with her, his magic works, and her walls slowly start to crumble. He’s not her type. She’s never been into guys like Bryant, but then again, she’s never really known anyone quite as stubborn, or caring, or who can get her to confess stuff she wouldn’t even tell her best friend.

Review:

To start off with the truth, I didn’t know this was a book. I have seen the movie on PureFlix and I actually like it. It’s a high school girl who doesn’t quite know what is happening until Bryant Bailey comes on the scene. Now fair warning while on Goodreads this is listed under abuse, it is emotional abuse. No physical abuse happens.

Bryant keeps asking Indy if she will forgive him for ruining her life. While she says no because she thinks he is just wanting to soothe his ego, she finds out they actually have more in common than she thinks. Bryan gets Indy. He actually gets her. He can guess things that even her best friend for three years never could guess let alone get Indy to confess. As Indy finds a new direction in her life she has to choose if she wants to stay hidden or actually experience the world.

Bryant is much different from the movie. Of course. In this, he is dark-haired and dark-eyed. In the movie he is completely opposite. But personality, I feel like he has more depth in the book. Not surprising at all. Both him and Indy were deeper. The conversations were deeper and it feels like they got connected better in the book than in the movie. The movie left out certain details that got the connection between the two. Maxton was okay. He wasn’t my favorite in the movie and nothing has changed at that. He is in wrestling than soccer. But I will say the movie gives him a bit more credit at a certain point than the book does. I can’t say or else I would spoil it.

Also some other changes were that instead of an attic room, she had a basement room. The stepsisters aren’t actually mean to her in the movie just the aunt and uncle. They tend to forget about her. Bryant has three sisters in the book instead of two. We get more of a feel for Bryant and his dad. But with this book being just Indy’s POV I understand that we won’t get everything we did in the movie.

One thing I absolutely love about the book is that Bryant’s dad is a psychiatrist and he tells Bryant he has to wait to date Indy until she has time to heal. I love that. This way they won’t jump in so quickly and it be a hero complex.

I would say I like the book and the movie about the same. What I didn’t like in the movie the book made up for and what I didn’t like in the book the movie made up for. So it’s a win-win.