Book Reviews

Werewolf High: The Complete Freshman Year by Antia Oh

My edition: Kindle Owned
Pages: 425
Series: Werewolf High books 1-3
Genre: YA, Fantasy, Paranormal
Publish: June 2, 2017
Rating: 4 stars


The entire first year of the best-selling Werewolf High series is now available in one collection!

Join Lucy and the pack in the first three books, as they face down all the dangers that come along with werewolves, witches and high school!

Book 1: The Truth Spell

Lucy O’Connor is more IT girl than “it girl” but even though she’ll never fit in, the scholarship to elite Amaris High is an opportunity she can’t refuse.

The day Lucy arrives at Amaris, she sees her best friend, Sam Spencer. But Sam had died three years ago, on the night that had changed Lucy’s life forever. The more Lucy looks for answers, the worse things get for her, as she makes an enemy of the richest, most popular boy in school, Tennyson Wilde.

When the entire school is hit by a truth spell, it seems like the perfect chance to find out what Sam and Tennyson are hiding, but the closer Lucy gets, the more she realizes that the truth is stranger than she ever imagined.

Book 2: The Tiny Curse

Life isn’t going so well for Lucy at elite boarding school, Amaris High. Classes are a struggle. She has no leads on the evil magic user. Sam’s avoiding her, and the entire student population hates her.

But someone hates her more than the rest. Rumors start spreading that lead to Lucy being bullied worse than ever before. Just when she thinks she couldn’t feel smaller, she’s hit with a spell that shrinks her down to only two inches tall.

Forced to rely on Sam, Tennyson and the other Golden to survive, Lucy is determined to get to the bottom of things once and for all. But the more she learns, she finds that being tiny might not be her biggest problem.

Book 3: The Body Swap

Lucy’s world is turned upside down when she learns that her enemy is the one person she never suspected.

Although she has Sam and the Golden on her side, she no longer knows who to trust. Then, when she’s hit with one final spell, she has no choice but to put her faith in the person the she despises the most.

Stuck in Tennyson Wilde’s body, Lucy and Tennyson must work together to break the curse or risk becoming each other for real. But in order to fix things, Lucy will face the greatest betrayal of all.


Spoilers head!

Book 1: The Truth Spell
Rating: 3.5 stars

I really liked this. I’m quite surprised.

Lucy gets a scholarship to an exclusive school. When she gets there though she finds out a secret. Then the whole school is put under a truth spell. It’s up to her to find out what or who has cast it.

It kept me entertained. Not a complete 5 star but like I said it kept me entertained. I didn’t want to punch any of the characters, well maybe Tennyson.

Book 2: The Tiny Curse
Rating: 3.5

I am so surprised that I am getting into this book. I actually like it. It’s been a long time since a book series sucked me in, especially YA.

Though at times I think it’s the usual corny YA, I can’t help but like it. The heroine is quite funny. Right now I am rusty on how to write reviews again. But alas, a cute YA paranormal read. The romance is on back burner right now and the story is compelling. This one did leave on a cliff hanger though.

Book 3: The Body Swap
Rating: 4 stars

I like this one the most, though I have a feeling a love triangle will be popping up soon. But I could be wrong. Still the romance is the back burner. We get better explanation on why Lucy lost her father and why Sam was with the Wildes.

Why did it have to end? I want more.