Posted in Book Reviews

Insanity by Lauren Hammond

My Edition: Kindle Owned
Pages:227
Series:Asylum #1
Genre: YA, Mystery, Mental health
Rating: 4.5 stars

Synopsis:

Adelaide Carmichael and Damien Allen couldn’t be more opposite.

Adelaide’s mother abandoned her when she was ten years old, leaving her to be raised by her abusive and alcoholic father.

Damien on the other hand came from a wealthy family, was a local celebrity, and seemed to have a bright future ahead of him.

Despite their differences, Adelaide and Damien were young, wild, and fiercely in love.

And they had a plan.

They were going to run away.

Be together forever.

And their plan was set in motion, until tragedy struck and for some reason, Adelaide wound up in the Oakhill Institution for the insane.

Adelaide has no idea what she did to wind up at Oakhill, but she knows one thing for sure…

She wants out

And after Damien follows her there to aid her in escaping, Adelaide slowly begins putting together the pieces of her memory that are missing.

And it doesn’t take Adelaide long to figure out that sometimes…

That one true love never dies.

Warning: Do not read if you have a weak heart. 

Review:

All I can really say is, what the hell took me so long to read this?

This was amazing. I like how the author had it going back and forth from past to present. There were times I had to put the book down and think shit what the hell is going on.

Set in the 1950s Adelaide was walking down a dirt road while her father was at work. Damien passes her in his convertible. When she hears a voice call to her she is suddenly swept up by a brilliant pair of blue eyes.

Adelaide is a patient at Oakhill Institution. She has no idea why she is there. When finally she sees a familiar face, Damien. He’s an orderly. He has a plan to help her escape. Only until then she has to learn how to survive and not get sent down to the basement. But when she switches doctors she wasn’t prepared for Dr. Watson. He is gorgeous.

Why do I have to be broke? Why? I need the next three books like now. Again why did I take so long to read this? It has been on my kindle for about a year and half.

The only thing I didn’t like is the constant reminder that the heroine’s hair is ebony.

Author:

Lover of books and movies. Goodreads reviewer. Animal lover. I write my honest opinion on here. I don't lie about my look on a book. I'm not mean and tearing a book or the author down. I'm completely honest.

Leave a Reply

