Posted in Book Reviews

City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

My edition: Paperback (owned) ISBN: 9781416955078
Pages:485
Series: The Mortal Instruments #1
Rating: 2.5 stars

Synposis:

When Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder. Much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with odd markings. This is Clary’s first meeting with the Shadowhunters, warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons– and keeping the odd werewolves and vampires in line. It’s also her first meeting with gorgeous, golden-haired Jace. Within twenty-four hours Clary is pulled into Jace’s world with a vengeance, when her mother disappears and Clary herself is attacked by a demon. But why would demons be interested in an ordinary mundane like Clary? And how did she suddenly get the Sight? The Shadowhunters would like to know…

Review:

Reread. I read this book for the first time when the series was still a trilogy. Yeah that long ago. I was in a sort of rut. I was looking on my shelf at home and saw this and decide, time for a reread. While looking at friends’ reviews I couldn’t help but see some didn’t like this at all or some did. I went into this with my teenage self in back of mind because she loved the book. Plus it didn’t help that I will forever picture Brad Pitt’s Achilles as Jace. Now that I have watched teen wolf every time there is a red head or strawberry blonde I can’t help but picture Holland Roden.

Now that I reread this I couldn’t help but think, why did I like this before. Granted it is something different when it comes to certain aspects of Fantasy YA, but it was sort of Twilighty. Does anyone understand what that means?

Why is it in most books now days we always have the friendzoned guy still being in the friendzone when really he should be the boyfriend? Mostly due to the boyfriend being a controlling bastard or a jackass.

I really don’t find the appeal of Jace. While Brad and Holland rocked the roles in my head, their dialogue just made me want to cry. Kind of like the prequel Star Wars movies.

Why such a low rating? Besides the obvious, it took me over a week to finish this. I do have the other series she has wrote, the Infernal Devices, at home. Well just the first book. I want to see if that one is any better than this one.

