Posted in Book Reviews

Trickery by Jaymin Eve, Jane Washington

My edition: Kindle Unlimited
Pages: 298
Series: Curse of the Gods #1
Rating: 5 stars

Synopsis:

Willa Knight: Dweller. Slave. Non-magical being.

In Minatsol, being a dweller means that you are literally no better than dirt. In fact, dirt might actually be more useful than Willa. Her life will be one of servitude to the sols, the magic-blessed being who could one day be chosen to become gods.

At least her outer village is far removed from the cities of the sols, and she won’t ever be forced to present herself to them… Until one small mistake changes everything, and Willa is awarded a position to serve at Blesswood, the top sol academy in the world- a position that she definitely did not earn.

Under the sudden, watchful eye of the gods, she will be tasked to serve the Abcurse brothers, five sols built of arrogance, perfection and power. They are almost gods themselves, and under their service she is either going to end up sentenced to death, or else they are going to ruin her so badly that she will wish for it.

Either way, she is in trouble.

Review:

All I needed to do was stay away from fire, tar, sharp things, pointy things, serrated things, hot things, breathing things, living things, and sacred things.

Do you like a heroine who is clumsy? Do you like a heroine who has a smart mouth? Do you like a heroine who saves herself? Look no further.

In the world of Minatsol there are two races, the sols and the dwellers. The sols are magical beings that can be chosen by the gods to become gods in Topia. Dwellers are the low non magical beings that few are chosen to serve the sols. The elite academy for the best of the best sols is Blesswood which is right smack center of Minatsol. There are nine rings around Blesswood. Our heroine Willa is from the seventh ring. With one little alteration she ended up being chosen to go to Blesswood. But unfortunatly her village leader miss spelled her name to Will. Thought that she is a boy she is assigned to the five Abcurse brothers who make it their life to get dwellers fired.

Willa had me rolling on the floor.

Blesswood dwellers didn’t come back to the outlying villages, despite that Emmy had promised-nope, they were destined for bigger and better things. Like being hogtied and sacrificed to the Gods for accidentally tripping and punching the sacred balls of one of the sacred sols.

I don’t think I have found a heroine I have love this much this year as much as I love Willa. She is a woman who won’t bow down. She is also a big time klutz who tends to look at the worst of things.

“I’ve wanted to see skyreachers my entire life. Did you know that hundreds of sols can live in one building? It’s ingenious.”
All I heard was ‘did you know that hundreds of sols can all die in one go?’ Ingenious clearly equaled insane in Emmy-talk.

“I never really believed Teacher Hardy’s theory. He ate sardines for lunch, It’s never good to trust a person who eats sardines.”

(According to Willa I shouldn’t trust Wy.)

It’s quotes like this that made me laugh. I loved the story. The flow was done amazing. I was hooked from the start. I loved the world both authors have created. There were a few misspelled words but that was something I could look past. Mostly because I don’t really know if they spell a word one way in Australia that is different from that of USA.

Plus for many who know me, know I love Spartacus who has a saying I love most of all.

Ht6oKCs.gif

So when Willa muttered those same words, you can bet my little but was cheering.

“What?” I asked defensively. “Just trying to be polite.”
“We’re here to kill her,” Siret reminded me, his voice a frustrated groan.
“Don’t see why we can’t kill her politely.” 

Author:

Lover of books and movies. Goodreads reviewer. Animal lover. I write my honest opinion on here. I don't lie about my look on a book. I'm not mean and tearing a book or the author down. I'm completely honest.

Leave a Reply

