Posted in Book Reviews

El Diablo by M. Robinson

My edition: Kindle
Pages:414
Series: Standalone
Rating: 2.5 STARS
Synopsis:

I was ruthless.
I was feared.
I had sacrificed. Myself. Her. Everything…

Living in a world where I was worth more dead than alive was a choice. I was a bad man, never claimed to be anything else. I’ve done things I’m not proud of. Seen things that can’t be unseen I’ve caused pain that I can’t undo.
It was all my choice.
Every decision.
Every order.
Right and wrong never mattered.
Until her.
She was under my protection, until she became my obsession.
But who was going to save her…

From. Me. The devil himself.

Fate brought us together. Destiny destroyed us.

Review: I really don’t know how I feel about this right now. I had so many motions going through my head that I really can’t process.

Where to start… I guess the beginning is always the best.

Just fair warning:

maxresdefault (1)

Spoiler-Alert-kittens

Prologue: I loved it. I really like Martinez character.

Part one: I was bored. I hated Sophia. I really didn’t want this book to be about  their lives. I would have DNF this if it was. Not lying. This whole part is told P.O.V. by Martinez. It starts when he is young but really picks up when he is fourteen and leaves the house one night. After he comes back he finds his sister and her best friend Sophia almost raped. He ends up killing for the first time and is then being trained to take over his father’s place as a crime boss. The first part doesn’t end until after Sophia leaves him. (Silently cheering) Then he kills his father.

Part Two: Enter Lexi. I knew exactly who her mother was even though it didn’t say her name, I knew it was her. I hated her even more. Lexi, I don’t know why, but I liked her already. So much better than Sophia. Even though I had some suspicions about who her father was I still liked her. Good thing I was wrong. (Learn that later) We go through the life of Lexi. Certain points that were important. Along side that Martinez finds out that his sister was in a horrible car accident and passed away leaving him to take care of his niece Daisy who changed her name to Briggs.

Part Three: Martinez saves Lexi for her sort of boyfriend. This part goes through life of Lexi having to live with Martinez till she is able to be safe again. Martinez is trying to keep her at arms length but that doesn’t work out so he treats her like shit and pushes her away. She then flies off to England where she was offered a position to dance. Martinez follows her but decides it’s better to leave her be.

Part four: Fast forward ten years and Lexi is still in England. She finally found a man who will take care of her. Then she is in a horrible accident which ends up taking his life. She wakes up in a hospital finding Martinez there like he use to be before. He tells her what happened. Unfortunately she doesn’t have anyone else now and has to go with Martinez so he can help her recover.

A lot of angsty stuff happens and then Lexi finds out all about Martinez. I won’t spoil the ending but it was good. I just wish I didn’t have to go through so much drama just to get to it. Even though this book is only 414 pages it felt longer. Really dragged out. I will read another book by this author. I’m hoping it isn’t like this one. I mean the dragged out story. I feel like I literally just went through a lifetime. I’m actually exhausted. I feel really extremely tired.

Now even though I liked Lexi and Martinez together better than him with Sophia, I still didn’t get all gushy with them. It seemed as if there was a connection between them but the connection was never really drawn out or felt. Or maybe after reading many slow build romances by Zapata I’m being picky. With the blurb saying he was ruthless I did expect him as the crime boss he was, but with Lexi he just seemed like a gigantic ass.

The reason why this gets such a low ratings is because it took me eight days to read this. Eight days. I just couldn’t get into the story. But I made a deadline to finish this book and I met that deadline. Thank goodness. Now if you excuse me I am off to read something cheerfully happy where I don’t know whether to gush or throw up.

 

 

Author:

Lover of books and movies. Goodreads reviewer. Animal lover. I write my honest opinion on here. I don't lie about my look on a book. I'm not mean and tearing a book or the author down. I'm completely honest.

Leave a Reply

