Posted in Book Reviews

Blackwood by Celia Aaron

My edition: Kindle Unlimited
Pages: 270
Series: Stand-alone
Rating: 4.5 stars
Synopsis:

I dig. It’s what I do. I’ll literally use a shovel to answer a question. Some answers, though, have been buried too deep for too long. But I’ll find those, too. And I know where to dig- the Blackwood Estate on the edge of the Mississippi Delta. Garrett Blackwood is the only thing standing between me and the truth. A broken man-one with desires that dance in the darkest part of my soul-he’s either my savior or my enemy. I’ll dig until I find all his secrets. Then I’ll run so he never finds mine. The only problem? He likes it when I run.

Author’s Note: This is a standalone mystery/suspense romance with violence and explicit/intense sex. If you need a trigger warning, then this isn’t the book for you.

Review: Wow. This was just mind blowing.

Elise Vane is an archaeology student working on her Ph.D. She is trying to get permission to survey the Mississippi Delta. She mainly has one property in mind. The Blackwood Estate. Though she is saying she is trying to find evidence of the Choctaw living in the woods, she really is trying to find her missing father. She knows he is dead but she wants to find out why.

Garrett used to be a teacher at a college till he did something very inappropriate and was let go. Now he holes up in the Blackwood Estate living a life alone. When Elise shows up on his doorstep he has no idea how much trouble she really is.

After Garrett turns her away Elise decides she was going to survey his land anyway. It’s big enough he will never know. But when she is then attacked by wild boars and is forced to have to rely on Garrett she starts finding out little secrets that will change her outlook about the man who is taking her under his wing.

I loved the writing. I was captivated from start to finish. I also like how Aaron focused on the mystery and didn’t give anything away. The romance wasn’t on the forefront and took over the plot.  The ending was amazing. I actually had no clue what the mystery turned out to be. It surprised the heck out of me. I think my mouth even dropped.

I won’t lie, I do love a man with a beard, but after hearing what kind of sex Garrett is into I quickly wiped him off my boyfriend list as fast I put him on it. I will be reading more from this author for sure.

Author:

Lover of books and movies. Goodreads reviewer. Animal lover. I write my honest opinion on here. I don't lie about my look on a book. I'm not mean and tearing a book or the author down. I'm completely honest.

Leave a Reply

