Posted in Book Reviews

The Neverending Story by Michael Ende, translator Ralph Manheim

My edition: Library book
Pages:396
Rating: 3 stars
Synopsis:

Unicorns, dragons, sprites, will-o’-the-wisps: the inhabitants of an enchated world. And into this word through the pages of an old book ventures Bastian, a lonely boy of ten or twelve. But Fantastica is slowly decaying, its childlike Empress dying. Only a real human can set things right by giving the Empress a new name. Bastain takes up the challenge, and finds himself crossing the Swamps of Sadness and the Silver Mountains meeting sorcerers and giants, bats and night-hobs, gnomes and racing snails, as he journeys bravely toward the Ivory Tower. Bastian’s quest is filled with all the wonders of myth and fairy tale. It is a fantasy adventure that will capture your heart and recapture the magical dreams of childhood.

Review: If you were like me growing up, you have seen all of the movies called The Neverending Story. Recently I was at my local library and I saw this. I didn’t know this was based on a book or else I would have read it ages ago. I quickly add this to my growing pile and went on my merry way.

Well I don’t know if I just like the movies better or if I just read this at the wrong time. I was bored. As easy of a read it seemed to take me a while to get through it. I don’t know if it is me or if this is just aimed at a younger audience.  For a little while for me it seemed like it was neverending but it did end and I can’t believe this is coming out of my mouth but I will just stick with the movies. Good story but it will be just a one time read for me.

Author:

Lover of books and movies. Goodreads reviewer. Animal lover. I write my honest opinion on here. I don't lie about my look on a book. I'm not mean and tearing a book or the author down. I'm completely honest.

Leave a Reply

