Posted in Book Reviews

The Handmaid’s Tale

My Edition: Kindle
Pages: 311
Rating: 2 stars
Synopsis:

Offred is a Handmaid in the Republic of Gilead. She may leave the home of the Commander and his wife once a day to walk to food markets whose signs are now pictures instead of words because women are no longer allowed to read. She must lie on her back once a month and pray that the Commander makes her pregnant, because in an age of declining births, Offred and the other Handmaids are valued only if their ovaries are viable. Offred can remember the years before, when she lived and made love with her husband, Luke; when she played with and protected her daughter; when she had a job, money of her own, and access to knowledge. But all of that is gone now…

Review: I tried. I really did try to like this but I ended up not liking this at all. Offred many of times made me want to scream in frustration and bang my head against a wall. Atwood must not like quotation marks. I found this book hard to read at times because I had to reread several sentences just to see what was being said and what was character. So I am already going to put the blame here right now so you don’t have to do it. I read this book wrong.

Actually no, I didn’t, but I said it just for you. I did not enjoy this book. I really didn’t like any of the characters. They seemed like noodles right before you add seasoning. Bland. Plus I really don’t like the writing style. The only reason I picked up this book was to shut everyone up that was telling me to read it, that I was going to love it and what not. Guess what? I didn’t love it. Another reason I read this is because of an author A-Z challenge.

Besides the writing as I stated above, Offred was just unbearable to me. I really didn’t like being in her head. The story also jumped around from past to present to fast for me. There would be times that Offred was talking about what was happening in present and all of the sudden something from the past would come up. Then there was a bit of slut shaming against how women use to be. That really didn’t sit well with me. All of this made it hard for me to enjoy this book. I started skimming the last 200 some odd pages.

I guess I am just an outcast when it comes to this book. Many of my friends loved this book but it’s hard for me to see why. Just not the book for me.

Author:

Lover of books and movies. Goodreads reviewer. Animal lover. I write my honest opinion on here. I don't lie about my look on a book. I'm not mean and tearing a book or the author down. I'm completely honest.

Leave a Reply

