Posted in Book Reviews

Flowers in the Attic by V.C. Andrews

My edition: Library book
Pages:411
Series: Dollanganger #1
Rating: 4.5 stars
Synopsis:

The four Dollanganger children had such perfect lives- – a beautiful mother, a doting father-a lovely home. Then Daddy was killed in a car accident, and Momma could no longer support the family. So she began writing letters to her parents, her millionaire parents, whom the children had never heard of before.

Momma tells the children all about their rich grandparents, and how Chris and Cathy and the Twins will live like princes and princesses in their grandparents’ fancy mansion. The children are only too delighted by the prospect. But there are a few things that Momma hasn’t told them.

She hasn’t told them that their grandmother considers them “devil’s spawn” who should never have been born. She hasn’t told them that she has to hide them from their grandfather if she wants to inherit his fortune. She hasn’t told them that they are to be locked away in an abandoned wing of the house with only the dark, airless attic to play in. But Momma promises it’s only for a few days…

Then the days stretch into months, and the months into years. Desperately isolated, terrified of their grandmother, and increasingly convinced that their mother no longer cares about them, Chris and Cathy become all things to the twins and to each other. They cling to to their love as their only hope, their only strength- – a love that is almost stronger than death.

Review: I have been told many times by Wy’s mother that I need to read this. It turns out this is a big favorite for many people. As soon as I got this book people were telling me they loved this, they’ve read it many times and I will never look at powdered donuts the same. Good thing I hate powdered donuts then.

I loved this story. The only reason I am not giving it a full five stars is because of incest. It is no lie that happens in this book. But I still loved the story. I was in a total book funk and this book lifted me out of it. I hung onto every word. I can’t wait till I can go back to the library and get Petals in the Wind.

I felt so bad for the Dollangager children. With a grandmother that they had, I still didn’t thinks she was the main monster of the story. I think their mother was. A selfish monster that made me just want to hug those children. It also happens that my favorite character is Cory. The youngest son and twin. I cried at the end. I was emotionally drained at the end

Let the book coma begin.

 

Author:

Lover of books and movies. Goodreads reviewer. Animal lover. I write my honest opinion on here. I don't lie about my look on a book. I'm not mean and tearing a book or the author down. I'm completely honest.

Leave a Reply

