Posted in Book Reviews

Anya’s Ghost by Vera Brosgol

My edition: Library Book
Pages: 221
Rating: 3 stars
Synopsis:

Anya could really use a friend. But her new BFF isn’t kidding about the “Foever” part. 
Of all the things Anya expected to find at the  bottom of an old well, a new friends was not one of them. Especially not a new friend who’s been dead for a century.
Falling down a well is bad enough, but Anya’s normal life might actually be worse. She’s embarrassed by her family, self-conscious about her body, and she’s pretty much given up on fitting in at school. A new friends- even a ghost- is just what she needs.
Or so she thinks. Spooky, sardonic, and secretly sincere, Anya’s Ghost is a wonderfully entertaining debut from author/artist Vera Brosgol.

Review: This is a graphic novel. I haven’t read one in a while. I tend to prefer manga but I saw this and wanted to give it a shot. Anya is a Russian girl who lives in the US. She is a bit embarrassed by her family but loves them no less.

anya-ghost-3

Anya one day decides she is going to walk in the park and get away from school when she falls down a well.

anya-ghost-4

At first she’s scared and tries to call for help. Then she sees a skeleton when she lights a match. Then someone appears.

anya-ghost-5

The ghost appears friendly but Anya is not having it. She wants out of the hole and away from the skeleton and ghost.

Anya is very relatable. I liked her. She was funny and she wasn’t a stupid heroine. She even gives dirty looks to people who touches her food. Even if it’s a ghost.

anya-ghost-6

I mean who hasn’t given that look to someone.

Anya only has one friend at school. When she finds out that a piece of bone from Emily (ghost) skeleton is in her bag she is then followed by Emily. After Emily helps her with a test in school she decides to keep her around.They get pretty close until Emily starts to change and acting different. Anya then has to make a choice. Keep Emily around or get rid of her.

I did like this but my major upset was that the end seemed a little rushed and rather dull. I was hoping for a bit more of a creepy vibe but that never really happened. I also found in this book the dumbest character I’ve come across. Her name is Elizabeth.

Warning spoiler:

Elizabeth is the nice girl who is dating the hottest guy at school. Anya goes to a party with them. (She is also crushing on said hot guy.) Anya goes upstairs to find hot guy to see Elizabeth who is standing outside a door. When they strike up a conversation, Hot Guy comes out of bathroom that he is supposable in with Preston, only Anya saw Preston downstairs not that long ago. Giggles come out of bathroom that hot guy was in. He then hits on Anya right in front of girlfriend then tells girlfriend she need a better warning.

Yeah you read that right. Girlfriend was helping her boyfriend cheat on her. It’s only been happening for THREE years now. So I say again the dumbest character I’ve come across.

Author:

Lover of books and movies. Goodreads reviewer. Animal lover. I write my honest opinion on here. I don't lie about my look on a book. I'm not mean and tearing a book or the author down. I'm completely honest.

Leave a Reply

