Posted in Book Reviews

Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier

My edition: Library book
Pages:324
Series: Edelstein-Trilogie #1
Rating: 3.5 stars
Synopsis:

Gwyneth Shepherd’s sophisticated, beautiful cousin Charlotte has been prepared her entire life for traveling through time. But unexpectedly, it is Gwyenth, who in the middle of class takes a sudden spin to a different era!

Gwyneth must now unearth the mystery of why her mother would lie about her birth date to ward off suspicion about her ability, brush up on her history, and work with Gideon- – the time traveler from a similarly gifted family that passes the gene through its male line, and whose presence becomes, in time less insufferable and more essential. Together, Gwyneth and Gideon journey through time to discover who, in the 18th century and in contemporary London, they can trust.

Review: So this is really my first time travel book. It is also the first book I have read by this author. I’ve had this on my TBR list since I was a senior in high school. I’m just now getting to it. I know so long!

Anyhozers I read through this pretty fast even though I have been “currently reading it” for about a couple weeks. I technically picked it up last Thursday. With such a busy month I really haven’t been able to read, nor have I been in a big reading mood. Luckily I am slowly getting out of that.

Gwyneth isn’t my favorite YA heroine but she wasn’t horrible either. Somethings that she did just seemed like you shouldn’t do because… well because common sense. Gideon is an a$$hat buffoon that I won’t ever like. He was so hot and cold I thought Katy Perry based the song off of him.

lkgei3g

He wouldn’t like Gwyneth then he would show something totally different. I wanted to pull him from the book, punch his arrogant face, then put him back. Also really hated when he called her Winnie or said she was a child even though she was the same age as Charlotte. Which I didn’t like her either. Charlotte seemed like everyone’s family member that is a total stuck up b*tch that no one likes. (Come on now we all have that one family member.)

About half way through I thought back to the prologue and was like yeah could guess that right away. But still the story is very original. I’ve never read anything like this. Gwyneth was the only character I really like along with her friend Lesley and the ghost James. All the other characters I really didn’t care about. I will read the second book. Note me a bit curious.

Author:

Lover of books and movies. Goodreads reviewer. Animal lover. I write my honest opinion on here. I don't lie about my look on a book. I'm not mean and tearing a book or the author down. I'm completely honest.

Leave a Reply

