Posted in Book Reviews

Forest Fire by Tenaya Jayne

My edition: Kindle Unlimited
Pages:224
Series: The Legends of Regia #2
Rating:
Synopsis:

Banished to Earth. Hunted by the queen’s assassins. Forest must fight to find a way back to Regia. Lonely and brokenhearted, she waits for Syrus to break through her banishment.
Separated from Forest, Syrus lives his days in anguish, trapped in a portal that goes nowhere. While Regia’s civil war ravages the land and the balance of power tips, the world will learn it’s the Rune-dy pulling the strings.
Forest must face the horrifying secret of her origins and lean her father’s identity. Attain her freedom through retribution and wage war inside her own heart. Will she be able to accept the gift Syrus offers, or will one mistake separate them forever?

Review: I didn’t really like Forest in this one. She was whiny and played the self pity party to much. I could understand Syrus’ and Shi’s frustration of having to deal with her. Forest wasn’t a strong female MC but she wasn’t completely weak in the first book. In this one she just grated my nerves.

This book seemed like one giant pity party for Forest after she found out who her father was and what she was. No matter what she was her father loves her. Syrus loves her. Shi loves her. She’s going to be queen. She’ll have the power she wants to change the world. What more does she want?

In the first book she wanted to kill Leith so bad. She almost did at the beginning of the book. Then she gets an opportunity to kill him right way and she doesn’t take it. If she does then she doesn’t have an excuse to not be with Syrus which drives me insane. Also along with this she is given by her father a title and it gives her more than what she has ever dreamed of wanting, yet she is still second guessing it all.

Forest confuses me. At the beginning of the book she wanted Syrus then all of the sudden she thinks he deserves better and tries to find ways to not to be fully his. *Smash my head against a wall*

Forest just ruined most of this book for me. I am going to read the third book but if Forest acts the same I am calling quits. I hate how most YA heroines are depicted. They are a “nobody but suddenly the right guy at first sight makes them somebody”, “self loathing” “in love with the guy at first sight”. Can we please get something new?

But I do have a good part out of this book. Netriet. I fell in love with her after Forest told her story.

“No, really,” Netriet pressed. “You’re an amazing person. You’re just an ingrate.”
Forest stopped pacing and stared at Netriet. The word ingrate caught her sideways.

“You’ve had a bum deal, I’ll admit it. And it’s gotten to your head. You’ve been handed the job of your dreams, and you spit on it. You’ve been given respect and position, and you act like a guttersnipe. And you’ve got Syrus!Jeez, Syrus! And you hurt him and send him away. More than a few other women would be happy to swoop in and comfort him, myself included. But he’s yours, forever, without question, because he’s your destined life mate. He’ll never love anyone but you. Why do you reject it?”

Can we please give applause to Netriet?

rDIQpV8

She just said what we all want to say to most female characters like Forest. Thank you. Seriously thank you.

Author:

Lover of books and movies. Goodreads reviewer. Animal lover. I write my honest opinion on here. I don't lie about my look on a book. I'm not mean and tearing a book or the author down. I'm completely honest.

Leave a Reply

