Posted in Book Reviews

Review: The Wild Swans by K.M Shea

My edition: Kindle Unlimited

Pages:252

Series: Timeless Fairy Tales #2

Synopsis: Off of Goodreads

Elise is the foster-daughter of the King of Arcainia, a mathematician, and
the country's treasurer. She is not a hero. But when her step-mother, a 
wicked witch, curses Elise's seven foster-brothers-the princes of Arcainia-
and turns them into swans, Elise is the only one who can save them.

To break the curse, she must knit seven shirts made of stinging nettles, but
there's a catch. She has to complete the shirts without uttering a word, and 
if she doesn't finish the task, Arcainia and her foster-brothers will be lost.

The Wild Swans is a retelling of the German Six Swans fairy tale and the Dutch
Wild Swans fairy tale. It is a story of humor, love, adventure, and magic, and
it is a part of the top-selling Timeless Fairy Tales series- a series 
composed of loosely related adaptations of your favorite fairy tales. All
Timeless Fairy Tales take place in the same world and can be read all together
or as individual, stand-alone books.

Rating: 4.5 stars

Review: This one was just as good as the first book. Elise was just wanting to be included in the family. Her foster brothers expected her to be perfect and to do her duty as a royal. She even has a nickname of “perfect Princess”. When the king brings in her step mother no one was expecting or very welcoming to. Clotilde was a greedy and hateful character.

Clotilde didn’t like that her new found step children didn’t like her and that they made the king fight against her. Everyone was supposed to be cursed but somehow Elise managed to avoid the curse. Angelique, the enchantress that helped Prince Servin in the first book, helps Elise in finding a way to break the curse. All seven brothers are cursed to be swans throughout the day. When the sun sets they have an hour to be human then they turn back to Swans again.

Elise must sacrifice a lot to break it. She must not make one sound while knitting seven shirts out of stinging nettle. When her brothers are human for an hour Elise can talk during that time. I don’t know if I could stay quiet. I am normally a chatter box or I talk to myself. The obstacles that Elise faces along the way would have also made me brake down and cry. Not silent tears either. Oh no, it’s the big fat ugly cry that we normally hid in the bathroom to do.

The Wild Swans is a wonderful retelling, I think. I don’t know much from the original fairy tale but I liked this story. Plus can we talk about the cover. This is just GORGEOUS! Really, truly it is. There are little hints at the beginning of the story that shows this is set a little bit after the first book. Plus if you are like me and having a hard time on which foster brother to pick, Shea has two alternate endings. One for Falk and one for Rune. It made me so happy.

Bring on the next book.

 

Author:

Lover of books and movies. Goodreads reviewer. Animal lover. I write my honest opinion on here. I don't lie about my look on a book. I'm not mean and tearing a book or the author down. I'm completely honest.

Leave a Reply

