Posted in Book Reviews

Review: Cinderella and the Colonel by K.M. Shea

My Edition: Kindle Unlimited

Pages: 238

Series: Timeless Fairy Tales #3

Synopsis: Off of goodreeds

22703076Scratching out a living in a land recovering from war and a hostile takeover, Cinderella-an orphaned, destitute duchess- is desperate to save her lands and servants in spite of the terrible taxes placed upon her by thee Erlauf queen, even if it means she must don servants’ clothes and work like a commoner.

Her sacrifices aren’t enough, and when a mountain of debt is levied against her, she is given one season to produce the funds. Cinderella realizes it is only a matter of time before she loses everything she has struggled to protect, and it seems that all is lost until she is befriended by the debonair Colonel Friedrich-a member of the Erlauf military and a citizen of the oppressing country that rules her homeland.

From helping her break into the royal library to saving her from a rogue mage, Friedrich draws her closer and challenges her mindset of the queen of war.

Cinderella knows Friedrich is not all he appears to be, but can she trust him with her country and her heart?

Rating: 4.5 stars

Review: I finally found a telling of Cinderella I liked. This didn’t have a stupid prince or anything like the old one. I really liked this story. I loved how Shea made the Colonel. He was my favorite.

Cinderella was a duchess and her evil step mother and sisters were actually not evil. They pretty much ignored her almost the whole time. Erlauf invade Trieux which is Cinderella’s country. With the tensions of everyone hating each other Cinderella navigates through her emotions and her sense of duty. While this is happening Cinderella has caught the attention of a Colonel.

Shea, you made me like Cinderella. You did the impossible. The reason this didn’t get a full five stars was there were a few mistakes but nothing that made me go insane. I wish to say more but then I would ruin the whole story.

Author:

Lover of books and movies. Goodreads reviewer. Animal lover. I write my honest opinion on here. I don't lie about my look on a book. I'm not mean and tearing a book or the author down. I'm completely honest.

One thought on “Review: Cinderella and the Colonel by K.M. Shea

Leave a Reply

