Posted in Book Reviews

Review:Cold Mark by Scarlett Dawn

My Edition: Kindle Unlimited

Pages: 429

Series: Mark #1

Rating:2.5-3 stars

Synopsis: Off of Goodreads

Subject Name: Braita Valorn 
Race: Human  
Sex: Female
Age: 18
Designation: Slave
Temperament: Hostile

Thrown head first into a barbaric world she knows nothing of, Braita Valorn 
must adapt to the dark life as a slave. Her survival hinges on it. With her 
freedom stolen, her existence is now controlled by the possessive Plumas of 
the West. But what they cannot control are her feelings and the other set of
men who want her- and who are willing to use every trick they know to obtain 
her from their enemies. Only Braita never expected to fall for these two Pluma
leaders of the East. 

Braita is a fighter. She demands her freedom most of all and this slave is 
willing to use her own tricks to get what she wants. Including her men...

Review: I need to explain on why I didn’t fully like this one so I have to throw this out there.

maxresdefault (1)

I’m torn on this one. I read over some of the reviews, now that I have read this, and I see why some people put a 3 star and lower while others put a higher rating. Me, well I don’t know what to do. I’m sitting here thinking it over. I have a list of pros and cons in front of me. While I can normally find more pros than cons in somethings, I have written a few cons that out weighed some of the pros.

How is that you say? Well for starts the MC Braita was a huge problem. She didn’t think anything through before she did something. She acted very childish when she walked in on her two Vaq.

Let me back up and explain a few things. Earth no longer is habitable. Humans are now on a planet called Joyal. There are two neighboring planets that host to two different alien species. One Triaz (which our MC goes to) hosts the Mian. They are a war tribe. The planet is split into two, East and West. You can tell if someone is from the East when they have a star tattooed by their right eye, while the West have a circle with a line through it by their left eye. On this planet two men rule one house. They also get a harem. They wear a ring for each female that is in their harem. The rings are connected to the cold mark which is on the female’s neck. They can tell their emotions and where they are through this ring. Vaq are bounded together. They can feel each others emotions and know where either of them is at any time of day (well night since Mian like the night). Vaq also share a Soul. A Soul is a female that is specifically made for them. They have pain if either of them are too far apart. If either of the trio were to be killed the other two die as well. (Makes you not want to be a Soul or Vaq that gets the Soul.)

Another problem for me was the BIG love triangle ish thing between Braita and the two Plumas of East and West. The Plumas are Vaq. Braita is the Soul to the Plumas of the West but she has major feelings for the Plumas of the East. At times with the Plumas of the West it seemed as they cared for her but like a sister then they would go all alpha male “she is mine”. It was confusing on their intentions.

On Goodreads this is tagged in Erotica. I don’t think it should be since sex isn’t done between the main characters near the end.

I actually like some of the plot. It seemed original to me. I haven’t read many sci-fi romances so I can’t really say if this is fully original. Now this is the second book that I have read of Scarlett Dawn. This one wasn’t as rushed as her other book seemed but there were some grammatical errors and a few plot holes that didn’t seem to get tied up. There were some funny moments. Mostly the teasing from the Plumas of the East. I’ll read the second one and finish the series.

♣Jay♠

Author:

Lover of books and movies. Goodreads reviewer. Animal lover. I write my honest opinion on here. I don't lie about my look on a book. I'm not mean and tearing a book or the author down. I'm completely honest.

Leave a Reply

