Posted in Book Reviews

Pigskin Rapture: Four Days in the Life of Texas Football by MAC Engel

My edition: Kindle

Pages: 240

Series: Stand-Alone

Rating: 3 stars

Review: Texas… What comes to your mind when you hear Texas? Me, I think of the Lone Star state, Chris Kyle, the Alamo, guns, cute guys, oh and FOOTBALL.

Football is one of my favorite sports. My top NFL team is the Houston Texans followed by the Pittsburgh Steelers and New Orleans Saints. Texas Longhorns come up on #7 on my college teams. When I saw this book on NetGalley I thought yeah I need it. Hello Texas football is amazing (if you don’t count the cowboys. Yeah not a big fan of the Cowboys. They are almost to the bottom of my list right above the Broncos.)

Even when baseball was America’s pastime, football was Texas’s pastime.

The author, Engel, was to cover as much ground as he can with three levels of football, high school, college, and the pros. He was to do this in four days.

There are pictures included in the book. Some of my pictures didn’t show in my kindle form. I don’t know why half of them showed and the other half didn’t. What I did see were done wonderfully. I liked them. It was refreshing to see. The pictures with the Astrodome are a few of my favorites right next to J.J. Watt’s plush toys.

Engel covers a lot of ground. Not only football games but the stadiums and the fans. He starts off with one of the most famous buildings in Texas. Settled in Houston is the Astrodome. If you don’t know the Astrodome it is the home of the Houston Oilers. It has housed everyone from George Strait to Muhammad Ali. Ask any adult in Houston that has grown up there or near it and the Astrodome is, as said in the book ,childhood. I believe this to be true.

I love that Engel covered these wide topics. It shows not only what it’s like on a daily basis but what football has changed into and how it shapes everything around it. If you are a football fan I would recommend this book. Even if you aren’t any kind of Texas fan I would still recommend it.

♣Jay♠

Author:

Lover of books and movies. Goodreads reviewer. Animal lover. I write my honest opinion on here. I don't lie about my look on a book. I'm not mean and tearing a book or the author down. I'm completely honest.

Leave a Reply

